XTERRA Syracuse – How it Works



Anyone can do our races. Moms, Dads, CEOs, teachers, surfers, mountain bikers … just about anyone with a passion for great sports in the outdoors.


 2016 America Tour Point Standings and Results


The new deal is simple. Amateur athletes can compete in as many events as they want and at the end of the season the athlete with the most points in each region by division wins.

The more you race, the more points you collect and the more likely you are to win a Regional Championship.  Enter as many races as you want and score points by finishing in the top 15 of your age group. There are two 100‐point scale “Gold” races (Oak Mtn and Beaver Creek) and the remainder are 75‐ point scale “Silver” races.   You must race one XTERRA event in your region of residence and two XTERRA events total (second race can be from any region) to be eligible for XTERRA Regional Championship honors.  The athlete with the most points ‐ by gender, by age group, and by region of residence ‐ earns the title of XTERRA Regional Champion, exclusive apparel identifying them as the champ, and a qualifying spot into the XTERRA World Championship race to be held Oct. 29, 2017 in Kapalua, Maui. No deferrals.

2017 XTERRA USA Championship: It is not necessary to qualify, nor be an American, to race at the XTERRA USA Championship, which will double as the XTERRA Pan America Championship on September 16 at Snowbasin Resort in Ogden, Utah. In Utah, the top American finisher in each age group will be honored as the XTERRA USA Champion. The top overall finisher in each age group, regardless of nationality, will be named the XTERRA Pan America Champion. See XTERRA Pan America Tour details at www.xterrapanam.com.

2017 XTERRA America Tour Gold Events

May 20, 2017 – XTERRA Oak Mountain State Park – Pelham, Shelby County, Alabama (100 Points + 51 Maui Slots)
July 15, 2017 – XTERRA Beaver Creek – Beaver Creek, Colorado (100 Points + 51 Maui Slots)



Review this section for the specifics on racing the XTERRA America Tour.


There are 8 XTERRA regions. Residence is determined by where you live during your first race of the season.

ATLANTIC (AT) – Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, Washington DC.

NORTH EAST (NE)  – Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Connecticut, New York.

SOUTH EAST (SE) – Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, Florida, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands.

MIDWEST (MW) – Minnesota, Iowa, Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Kentucky

SOUTH CENTRAL (SC) – Kansas, Missouri, Arkansas, Mississippi, Louisiana, Texas, Oklahoma, New Mexico

MOUNTAIN (MT) – Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Colorado, Utah, Wyoming

NORTH WEST (NW) – Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Alaska

WEST (SW) – California, Nevada, Arizona, Hawaii, Guam, Northern Marianas Islands, Pacific Territories


Your “XTERRA age” is your age on December 31st of the current race year.

XTERRA divisions are grouped  in 5 year increments.

15-19, 20-24, 25-29, 30-34, 35-39, 40-44, 45-49, 50-54, 55-59, 60-64, 65-69, 70-74, 75-79, 80+ and Physically Challenged.

*At the discretion of the race director athletes  with an XTERRA age under 15 may participate, but they will not earn XAT Points.

Physically Challenged Division

Physically Challenged athletes may choose to compete in the XTERRA Physically Challenged male/female division or in XTERRA age group divisions. PC athletes must choose whether to race in the PC or age group division at their first race of the season, and remain in that category all year.

There are no PC age group divisions (15‐19, 20‐24, etc…) or disability categories (PT1, PT2, etc…).

PC athletes who race at least one XTERRA will earn a World Championship slot.

The PC athlete with the most points at the end of the season ‐ by gender and by region of residence ‐ earns the title of XTERRA PC Regional Champion.

Clydesdale/Athena Division

Clydesdale and Athena competitive divisions are based on weight minimums outlined in the USA Triathlon Competitive Rules (Article III, 3.2). Athletes competing in the Clydesdale division must be a minimum of 220 pounds and athletes in the Athena division must be a minimum of 165 pounds.

XTERRA XPS races may offer Clydesdale/Athena divisions. XCS will host Clydesdale/Athena divisions at the XTERRA Oak Mountain, XTERRA Beaver Creek, and XTERRA USA Championship races – however – those athletes will score points in their age group for the XTERRA America Tour standings.


Select from XTERRA Point Series Silver races and XTERRA America Tour Gold races. All award points to competitors and are open to everyone.

Points are awarded to the top fifteen (15) finishers in each Age Group at each America Tour race. XTERRA America Tour Gold races award a maximum of 100 points while XTERRA Point Series Silver races award a maximum of 75 points.  Note: Points are not offered at XTERRA Sprint, Xticer or Short Course races.
The athlete with the most XAT points – by gender, age group and by XTERRA region of residence at the end of the year earns the title of XTERRA Regional Champion and will be awarded a qualifying slot into the XTERRA World Championship.

Everyone is welcome to compete for a national title at the XTERRA Pan Am / USA Championship in Utah.